Government Systems and the Distribution of Power

There are three ways that government systems distribute power.

- 1. Unitary
- 2. Confederation
- 3. Federal

Unitary

Power is held by one central authority



Unitary

Power is held by one central authority





Examples of Countries with Unitary Governments



Afghanistan

Angola

Cape Verde

Chad

Central African Republic

Cuba

Egypt



Confederation



- Definition-Voluntary association of independent states that often only delegate a few powers to the central authority.
- Secure some common purpose
- Agree to certain limitations on their freedom of action.
- States retain considerable independence.
- Less Binding than a Federation

Confederation

Power is held by the independent states

Independent States

> Central **Authority**

Independent States

Independent States

Independent States



Examples of Countries with Confederate Governments



The United States (1861-1865)

Serbia and Montenegro (2003-2006)

German Empire (1871)

European Union

OPEC

Federal

Power is divided by <u>one</u> central and <u>several</u> regional authorities.



Federal

Power is divided by <u>one</u> central and <u>several</u> regional authorities.

Regional Authority

Regional Authority Central Authority

Regional Authority

Regional Authority



Examples of Countries with Federal Governments



The United States

Canada

Mexico

United Arabs Emirates

South Africa

Iraq

Sudan